A bit of Harry Potter

Being the frugal gamer that I am I generally tend to buy pre-owned Xbox 360 games or flick through back catalogue games. Being a bit of Harry Potter fan I do buy the movie tie in games because untill someone releases an Harry Potter mmo it’s all I can do to experience the wizarding world in digital form lol. Anyway browsing Amazon the other day I spotted a used copy of The Order of the Pheonix for £3.99 which I promptly ordered and received yesterday morning.

I’d heard from various other sources that this is probably the best iteration of a Harry Potter game yet due to its sandbox style. Having only got about 20% complete in the main story line I have to very much agree it is incredibly fun so far and is scratching my wizarding world itch quite nicely. Unfortunately not every character is played by their original movie actor but the stand ins are not too bad it still breaks the immersion a little bit when the voice just does not sound as you might expect.

The game world is incredibly varied and in a few aspects is about as close to a mmo as single player console game can be. There is a level system, a main story arc, many side quests and 3 mini games one of which is wizards chess which I have spent far too much time on already lol, Gobstones which as basically jack marbles and Exploding snap (self-explanatory)

Basically you earn experience from questing and discovering secret passages/areas in and around Hogwarts. Experience is refered to here as Discovery Points and the higher ones level is the more spells are unlocked and the more powerful/accurate they become.

I just cannot stay on track with the main quest because of all the cool side quests and secret portrait passages/rooms I keep finding which is probably a good thing for longevity anyway. I just discovered the room of requirement and the prefects bathroom and at the moment I am recruiting members for Dumbledores army. I started with Luna Lovegood and I had to convince her to join by helping tempt a Thestral down in the forest for her to Pet round the back of Hagrids hut (ooh-er missus).

I feel I shall find quite a few hours of fun in this game maybe it will keep my pangs for a Harry Potter mmo at bay at least for now anyway plus as a bonus my better half loves watching me play Harry Potter games so I can have hours of fun guilt trip free yay!!!. I’m hoping that when all the movie’s are released and done that Warner Brothers will see a mmo as viable continuation of J.K Rowlings fantastic IP. If it’s not already in production somewhere. /crosses fingers!

Untill next time,

Be well, do good work and keep in touch with your friends!

About Gazruney

35 year old social gamer on Xbox 360 and PC platforms Big fan of the Harry Potter series, like a freaky anorak knows to much fan lol. Raptr - Gazruney XBL - Gazruney
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit of Harry Potter

  1. Dok says:

    Sounds rather good actually! As a rule I avoid movie tie-in games like the plague, as they really don’t have a good pedigree, but I might have to try and get my hands on a copy of this one. As for a Potter MMO, my last post on my blog, (which I am criminally neglecting of late), was on just such a topic…

  2. gazruney says:

    Nice I am scooting over to read your blog right this very second 🙂

Leave a Reply

